I’m a new tweeter myself, but I can’t help but find myself wrapped up in the web of tweeting, clicking, linking constantly when I log on. After reading a Brian Solis piece about how Twitter can now be the new form of advertising, I think that customers still may be weary.

Solis has some great points about why Twitter is such a great bed for new advertising to get into.

1) Grown to over 160 million users in 4 and 1/2 years

2) Sharing, linking, connecting is instantaneous, widening our influence circles

3) Big brands have already seen success from Promoted Tweets and Promoted Trends, i.e. Coca-Cola

The face of the Twitter matter is that, this miniblogoshpere confined to 140 characters has actually for the first time opened up to some advertising. Edward Boches tweeted that “transformation” was the buzzword for advertising in 2010. With this transformation, new media takes gains more attention than ever. Harnessing that attention and using that for advertising is what Twitter now presents. With the new Promoted Trends hashtage, Solis stated that the advertisied links were clicked on by 5% of users, which is 5x more than any other online advertisement. Meanwhile, Coca-Cola boasted over the 5% average when it started the Promoted Trends hashtag and those tweets even required followers to click twice (one for the hashtage then again for the link).

Alright, alright, all of this seems to be going swimmingly expect for Twitter has basically been created through users since the beginning and I find it hard to believe that just Promoted Tweets and Trends are going to be able to jump right into the close-knit cyber community. When I am on my own Twitter page, I deliberately avoid the Promoted Tweets and Trends. I don’t know if I would be more inclined to click on these if they were intertwined with a celebrity tweet, like I know Kim Kardashin constantly promotes, but if I can avoid an ad on the Internet I would.

Another flaw in the Twitter advertising plan is something both Solis and I agree on: Twitter is a flashing highlight for brands but it will be difficult to build an entire continual brand loyaltly on a media site that has new updates literally every second. Tweets are lost in the clutter and even if others are tweeting about a brand or product, I find it difficult to incorporate the brand image into a positive image. If anything, I have only seen negative backlash on Twitter, specifically with the Skecher’s BOBs copying TOMs fiasco.

There is no doubt that Solis has a very strong argument for the new Twitter advertising, but just as a normal observer, I find it difficult for the Twitter community to actively participate in a “Promoted” situation. Twitter advertising is definitely in the right direction for the transformation of advertising, yet a little bit more research and testing should be conducted before you start honing your 140 characteristic skills and before sprouting off tweets.

