This morning as my extended family and I are all sitting around the breakfast table we noticed one thing: the Thanksgiving paper is so ad heavy!  My grandparents, aunts, uncles, parents, cousins and all were picking up the different ads and commenting on them.  We focused on the low pieces but no one paid any attention to which store each one came from. The ads all looked the same…loud, colorful, with the name of the store buried somewhere on the first page buried under the pile. At least there is one day where the newspapers made some money.

And there were so many ads for cars. Do people really give cars for Christmas?  That is a lot of money to spend for a gift the person might hate.  Suppose you hate the color? At least with  a sweater the gift giver doesn’t notice if you never wear it and it shows up on the local homeless person.  But a car? Would the person notice if you never drove a car?

In a New York Times article, the shift from Black Friday shopping has moved to the web. I remember my parents waking up at 3am to go get the best price for my Easy Bake Oven or my fancy pants camera. I personally am not the biggest fan of crowds and have avoided malls or early morning shoppers making me miss out on the deals. Yet, I would much rather trade the deals for taking my time to pick and choose important presents out.

According to the NYT article, stores are utilizing the new cyber medium and doing virtual door busters. Waking up at 3am and using my computer in my bed is much better than than freezing my arse off with hundreds of other people. Besides, I don’t even have to beat peopel the the last Tickle Me Elmo since websites can just send me my item when it comes in stock.

Just look at my email below. Stores are bombarding my in box with online deals of all sorts.

Yay for that computer machine and Al Gore.

