Not-so-bright and early this morning, I set out for American Advertising Federation’s Student Conference in Washington, D.C. I am part of a student duo, along with fellow Ad Team co-leader Rachelle DiGregorio, attending the conference.

Both of us are very proud to represent the UO, the SOJC, and the #UOCreativeStrat program. One of our advertising professors, Dave Koranda, also joined us on the 5:45am flight leaving Eugene headed for the conference.

While peering out at the grandiose sunrise, I contemplate what I will learn at this conference. I know it is not only a great chance to meet other advertising students form around the country, but the conference will also be a great way to discuss new developments within our industry with featured professionals. Mingling will be key, but just to be able to represent the University of Oregon advertising program and the entire Journalism School will make this early morning trek worth it.

Oh, and did I mention this will be both mine and Rachelle’s first time visiting the United State’s Capital? Thus, there will of course be many historical sightings and museum tourings in between informational lectures and discussions of the student conference.

Keep your eye on Twitter for some live tweeting from all three of the Duckies attending and an eye out for me sitting with Honest Abe.

